Coopers Lager Update Part The Third

2010/01/26 at 4:56 pm Leave a comment

There is much to be said on the subject of bottle conditioning, and one thing is becoming extremely clear to me: have patience young brewmaster. Now two weeks into the bottle conditioning process for the lager carbonation is now noticeable in the glass. The green notes of the beer have tapered off dramatically, and when poured into a very clean container the beer actually forms and holds a nice white head. Now that’s what I call progress.

At this rate after another week of bottle conditioning I would be confident in premiering the beer to other people, and confident I will need to be since I will be doing just that at a get together with friends this coming Saturday. That will mark three weeks of bottle conditioning for the lager, and hopefully too much won’t end up on the floor in culinary disgust.

In other news I decided to halt the lagering process on the Endless Sail Orange Lager as atmospheric temperatures have risen to unsuitable temperatures. Therefore I went ahead and bottled the contents of the half gallon growler jug with a teaspoon of priming sugar in each. As it turns out my calculations were right on and the growler jug filled only two of my bottles which in a way excites me.

Extrapolated out that means a 5 gallon batch should only fill 16 of my bottles. Since I have 32 of these 740ml bottles I should be able to brew and bottle two 5 gallon batches at a time. Neat!

Looks like it’s about to get pretty busy around here in the land of brewing.

Entry filed under: Brew Log, Brewing Personal Notes, tasting. Tags: , , , , .

Coopers Lager Mid Conditioning Update Hyper Cat Brown Ale (X02)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Current Brews

Brew Bottling Date
Trick-or-Treat Candi Wheat 2010/10/31

